Cognac

So here’s my newest piece of Flash!Friday vol 3-20 which had to include man versus man conflict.

mc3a1rciusi_mese_1934

“We can’t keep going on like this.”

A heavy sigh followed an “I know.”

“It’s wrong.”

A long and uncomfortable silence followed an “I know, I know.”

“But…that doesn’t mean I don’t love you Kelley.”

A faint smile followed an “I know. I love you too Robert.”

“It’s just…”

“You’re married.”

“Married.”

A frown followed an “I know.” Then there was added, after a long look away, “It’s unfortunate.”

“I know, I know…It’s just…Ah! I don’t know, I’m so…Ugh! I hate this.”

“Tell me about it.”

“I mean when I look at you…it’s as if we were meant to be together.”

“I feel the same way.”

“Do you?”

“Of course I do Robert, of course I do.”

“There’s just too much to lose.”

“I know there is.”

“For both of us.”

“Do we break it off then?”

Robert took Kelley’s hand. “I love you and I will always love you.” He stroked Kelley’s fingers. “Still, I can’t help but feel guilty…That it’s wrong. That I’m a bad person. As much as I hate hearing myself say it, I think we have to.”

The door slammed open.

Kelley stood, then Robert, who, flashing an uneasy smile, said hello to and embraced his wife.


Please leave a comment

