Uncoupled

My newest piece of flash based on the prompt had to include reference to “a treasure”.

trans-siberian-rail

There are things in this world we can’t see or smell or taste. We don’t even know they’re there; they don’t affect us at all. Then there’s things like that that can derail us, even turn our lives into a train wreck, turning our hearts, our greatest treasures, into lumps of coal.

Ironic isn’t it?

Considering where I find myself that is.

It took me years to get my life back on track. Some would say my motives are crazy. If I were in Spain, they’d say they are “loco” motives.

Funny isn’t it?

No, not really.

I fit in quite well. Nobody noticed I wasn’t supposed to be there.

So I wait. Probably get off at the next stop.

The guy I spent much of my life looking for just ate the pasta I made special for him. Some things in this world are odorless, tasteless and when you, say, sprinkle those things over food, they <i>do</i> affect us.


Please leave a comment

