Malady

I wrote this story in response to the prompt from Christian Flash Weekly #30 some weeks ago and just discovered today that I won Grand Champion! Quite a nice surprise to my day.

The prompt came from Philemon 11, had to include “Once he was useless to you, now he is useful both to you and to me,” and had to be exactly 178 words.

ukipdaily.com
ukipdaily.com

“So what, first he was useless to you, but now that I need him you need him too?”

“I just see now, that’s all.”

She crossed her arms. “All that time you made fun of me, said I was foolish…”

“I was wrong. I see now, I’m telling you.”

“See what John!?”

“That you were right all along.”

“Right about what?”

“That I need something greater than myself.”

“And you’re willing to try? Willing to go to any length?”

He stumbled back and tripped over God-only-knows how many bottles and cans.

“I can’t help you anymore John.”

“Fine then,” he spat and, yanking open the fridge, pulled out another, popped it open and, looking her dead in the eye, chugged it down. Waiting for her to say something, he chimed in when she didn’t. “You’re not going to stop me?”

“I can’t stop you John.”

“Thought you said you loved me.”

“I do love you John. I will always love you. But I don’t get it. You just said—”

“I know what I said!”

“Then why John?”


One thought on “Malady

Please leave a comment

