Can We Please Stop Bashing Genre Fiction?

All fantasy writers (as well as those of other “genre fiction”) should read this.

Writing & Rewriting

“Fantasy is hardly an escape from reality. It’s a way of understanding it.” – Lloyd Alexander

I met a writer the other day and we got to talking about our works in progress. When I told him I was currently writing a young adult fantasy novel, he gave me this condescending look and said, “Oh. So you’re writing the next Twilight now are you?” You see, he was writing a literary fiction novel and proceeded to explain how he was tired of all of the “brain-numbing teen books” that have been filling bookstores lately. Now, I’m not a huge fan of Twilight, but quite honestly I’ve had enough with people using that tired joke to insult all young adult novels and their authors. In fact, I’m tired of people looking down on genre fiction in general.

This wasn’t the first time I had been judged for my choice of reading or writing material…

View original post 1,054 more words


Please leave a comment

