Damn

Here’s a real short story in response to the photo below as provided on Flash!Friday. Requirement? Between 140-160 words.

 

marooned-howard-pyle
marooned-howard-pyle

 

“Damn”

The joke is definitely on me this time.

I should have known not to trust that e-mail promising me a free cruise, pirate themed.

But my wife and I haven’t gone on a vacation in years. So I convinced her; we packed light, not even a book.

The captain of the ship introduced himself as Blackbeard. He didn’t have a beard.

My wife didn’t like that one bit…The name that is, not the joke.

The cruise started out a blast and there was even a guy with a real peg-leg. Blackbeard got me with drink—the yo-ho-ho and a bottle of rum kind.

I didn’t realize how, when they sang their pirate song, they looked at my wife. Blackbeard asked everyone the old question: if you were stranded on a deserted island, what three books would you bring. I answered.

He drugged me, beat me black and blue, now I’m marooned and I haven’t a book to read.

 


Please leave a comment

