Writing Fantasy: Coming up with Names

Fredrik Kayser

When asked about what the most difficult thing related to writing is, many writers will joke and say that it is coming up with good names for their characters. Either that or finding the inspiration, which more often than not is an actual lack of motivation more than anything else. One of the bigger challenges we’re faced with is not creating characters, no that’s easy, the difficult part is making them feel like living, breathing people. What I suspect is the biggest reason why many struggle with it, is that they are doing the very thing I caught myself doing a moment ago: I was projecting myself onto a character. I scrapped the character completely once I realised I was looking at a mirror image with a different name.

(Caroline Frechette has written a great post on the topic of writing well-rounded characters, in fact, she has written a…

View original post 710 more words


Please leave a comment

